Home

Money Mentor Interview with Janessa Engelmeyer

Hey Guys!!! Nice to meet you I’m Janessa!
Hey guys, my name is Janessa Engelmeyer and I am currently a rising senior at Northwestern University. I am a certified money mentor and outreach leader. Here is some cool facts about me to help you get to know me better!

Where are you from?

I grew up in a small town named Sartell in central Minnesota. It was really nice to grow up in a more rural area but live close enough to Minneapolis and St. Paul to still be familiar with bigger cities. I love having all the seasons. Lake life is huge in Minnesota and growing up there I took full advantage of the beautiful landscape where I grew up.

What did you do in High School?

I was a very involved student in high school because I love being busy. While I was in high school I enjoyed having a good balance of school and extracurricular activities. I participated and was on the executive board for my school National Honor Society. I participated in and was captain of my school’s mock trial team. I played varsity tennis for three years. I was very involved with my school’s activities but I also enjoyed working with my community as well. I took piano lessons and participated in various exams, competitions and recitals throughout the year.

For the first two years of high school, I spent my extra time volunteering at the local nursing home, with the food shelf at my church and assisting surgeries at the humane society. It was really cool to get hands on surgical experience as a high schooler! My junior and senior year of high school I worked at the nursing home in the kitchen and as the CPR certified dining room attendant. When I go back home, I still go and visit the nursing home to see my past coworkers and the residents I got close to.

What do you like about your college?

I really enjoy the location and the way our school year is structured. Northwestern is located right outside of Chicago so I feel very at home on campus and it doesn’t feel like I am in a big city but downtown Chicago is only a 45 minute train ride away. I love to go out to brunch and then spend the day studying at the medical school library as motivation. The campus is also located on Lake Michigan. I love walking along the lake at night to de-stress. NU is on the quarter system so I get the chance to take more classes per year. It’s nice because all classes are only 9 weeks.

What’s your major?

I am studying neuroscience with an allied field in biology and a minor of legal studies. I have always loved science and the legal field so my major/minor combination gives me the chance to explore different fields i’m interested in even though my end goal is to become a surgeon.

What do you participate in at your college?

I am involved with the Academy of Music and Arts for Special Education (AMASE). My student’s name is Jeny and I work with her every Saturday morning. It’s a great way to start my weekend. I am involved in my sorority and I am a recruitment counselor in the winter. I love being able to mentor the girls going through recruitment. I participate in Community Health Corps and work a public health outreach desk at local libraries twice a month. It’s a really cool unique opportunity to get to meet members of the community I live in outside of my school.

I am incredibly involved in my school’s dance marathon. NUDM is the best 30 hours of the school year :). I couldn’t stay away from nursing homes for too long because I also volunteer at a local nursing home every week with activities. I am on exec for Northwestern Emergency Medical Organization. Right now the club is just getting started and we are working on putting together an EMS squad on campus. I also do research on campus in a cognitive neuroscience lab studying the tradeoff between short term and long term memory consolidation while a person sleeps.

Is there anything in particular you want your mentee’s to know?

I love college. It was super scary to go out of state and start over somewhere completely new. I didn’t know anyone especially since most of my friend stayed in Minnesota. It was so worth it. I have made so many amazing friends and gotten so many amazing opportunities. I do get homesick but no matter how scary it seemed at first, I have overcome that and can’t imagine myself anywhere else. College can be really scary but I am here to help make sure it is the smoothest transition of your life :) Feel free to ask me about anything. I am an incredibly passionate person and I love talking with everyone!