Home

Money Mentor Interview With Amber Brune

Hello! Nice to meet you I’m Amber!
alt Hello everyone, I’m Amber and I go to the University of Florida. I’ve been a Money Mentor since September! I’m really excited to learn about you and find ways to help you! Here is a little about myself so you can get to know me too!

Where are you from?

I was born and raised in a small town in Texas, but moved to Coral Springs, Florida when I was 10. I decided to stay in Florida for undergrad because the schools here are great and I could be close to my family!

What did you do in High School?

I stayed more on the academic side of clubs because I was never good at sports. I would recommend following your passions and strengths while in High School! In high school I knew I wanted to help people so I decided I wanted to go into the medical field and chose to join Health Occupational Students of America (HOSA). I was in the club for three years and I took all of the classes offered. It was an amazing experience because I saw a baby being born, interesting surgeries, and learned a lot about the medical field! I was in other great clubs like National Honor Society (NHS), National Technical Honor Society (NTHS), and Mu Alpha Theta (Math Club). I held officer positions in HOSA and NTHS because I wanted to dedicate more time to those clubs!

What do you like about your college?

UF has a lot of amazing attributes! The campus is beautiful and very big! The school is always getting better! Our student union was recently renovated and it even has a bowling alley! Aside from esthetics the classes and teachers are incredible! The intro and lower level classes are usually large lecture classes which is nice to share ideas with many students! When you get to higher level classes the number of students shrinks and becomes more discussion based! Also, we have amazing sports teams and it is so fun to go their games.
alt

What’s your major?

I major in Political Science and minor in Sociology and English. I was originally a Biology major for a little of my first semester because I wanted to go into the medical field but realized I was more interested in law and politics. I found out that I enjoyed learning about law and politics when I took AP Government my senior year of high school. My first friend in college was a Political Science major and I decided to take a class with her, I was hooked ever since! I think that I can still help many people as a lawyer and I hope to one day help even more people by going into a political career!
alt

What are your favorite extracurricular activities?

In my Freshman and Sophomore year I interned for local politicians’ campaigns and it was a lot of fun! It was a great way to get out of my comfort zone by talking to new people all the time! I enjoyed canvassing neighborhoods more than calling people because the face to face interaction was really exciting (plus people are a lot nicer to you in person)! I joined Pre-Legal Honor Society my junior year and enjoy learning about what I need to do to get into law school and the type of law I might want to pursuit! I also volunteer in the community of Gainesville! I am a Guardian ad Litem volunteer, it’s a great institution that gets involved in cases where children are taken from their homes to determine the best placement for the children.

Is there anything in particular you want your mentees to know?

Don’t be afraid to venture out of your comfort zone! Find what you’re really passionate about and pursue it! It might be scary at first to try out new classes or switch your major but once you find what you love to do, it will all be worth it! I’ll be there with you every step of the way whether you need help with scholarships, finding a college, an appeal letter or anything else you have questions about! Contact me whenever you need help and I’ll do the best I can!